Thursday, October 8, 2009

Challengers Sweep Electric Co-op Voting In Socorro

By John Larson

SOCORRO – All three reform candidates were victorious in the Socorro Electric Cooperative's District III election in Socorro on Saturday night. Running for re-election were longtime board members Harold Baca, Juan Gonzales and Herman Romero.

Donald Wolberg, Priscilla Mauldin and Luis Aguilar won four-year terms on the board. Mauldin had the widest margin with 59 percent of the vote in her race with Gonzales, who had served as co-op trustee for nine terms. District III covers the city of Socorro, and is represented by six SEC Board members.

"As the results were announced, the crowded meeting hall started screaming and made enough noise to rock the building," co-op member Charlene Wagner said.

Position 1 Don Wolberg 303 Harold Baca 278

Position 2 Priscilla Mauldin 347 Juan Gonzales 234

Position 3 Luis Aguilar 319 Herman Romero 267

District V will be holding an election of one board member Saturday, Oct. 10, in Magdalena in the Parish Hall of St. Mary Magdalena Church.

District V covers the largest area served by Socorro Electric Cooperative including Magdalena, Datil, Pie Town, Quemado, and Fence Lake, and is represented by two trustees – Jack Bruton of Datil and Charlie Wagner of Magdalena.

Wagner will be running for re-election against Godin "Dean" Otero of Magdalena, and Clark Bishop of Datil. Bruton's seat is not up for election.

Saturday's election starts at 4 p.m., with registration and voting, followed by a business meeting at 7 p.m.